Snow Removal Concern News Release

Winter Driving Safety News Release


The Highway Department plows all State and County highways. State highways are numbered routes such as USH 151, STH 67, and STH 175. County highways are lettered routes such as CTH B, CTH KW and CTH T. The Highway Department is also contracted to plow the town roads in Clyman, Elba, Shields, and Westford. Town roads are named such as Bethel Road, Sunny Point Road and Walton Road. The remaining towns and all cities and villages are responsible for their own plowing.

Hours of coverage during storms vary by class of road.

Class 1 roads receive 24-hour service. Those roads are I 41, USH 151, STH 60 from STH 67 to Hartford, STH 26 from STH 60 to Watertown, and STH 33 from Beaver Dam to the east county line.

Class 2 roads receive coverage from 4:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Those roads are STH 73 from STH 33 to Columbus, STH 33 from STH 73 to Beaver Dam, STH 16/60 and 60 from Columbus to STH 67, STH 26 from STH 60 to Waupun, and all of STH 68, 175, 28, 67, and 49.

All County roads receive coverage from 4:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

The Town roads we plow are covered as time and manpower allow. Towns are not guaranteed same-day service. By direction of the Town Chairman, there are some storms we don’t plow for the town.

Due to the severity of the storm and for the safety of our drivers, there may be times during coverage periods that plows will be pulled from the road. Priority will be given to maintain Class 1 roads passable if at all possible.

Last updated: 12/1/2016 3:42:47 PM